latest Post

Message from the CEO and State Librarian

This special edition of the State Library’s eNewsletter is to announce the 2016 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards Category Winners and Premier's Award winner. 

The Premier Hon. Colin Barnett MLA announced the winners at an event held at the State Library on Monday 3 October 2016.

Renowned Australian author Helen Garner won the prestigious $25,000 Premier's Prize for her non-fiction publication This House of Grief.

Western Australian authors were well represented in all categories and took out Awards for Fiction, Poetry, Emerging Writer and the respected State Library of WA Western Australia History award. 

The Winners:

State Library of WA Western Australian History - Running Out? Water in WA by Ruth A Morgan, UWA Publishing

Western Australian Emerging Writer - Lost and Found by Brooke Davis, published by Hatchett Australia

Fiction The Golden Age by Joan London, published by Vintage

Non-fiction - This House of Grief by Helen Garner, Text Publishing

Poetry The Guardians by Lucy Dougan, published by Giramondo Poets 

Scripts - Dust by Suzie Miller

Digital Narrative Timelord Dreaming by David P. Reiter, Interactive Publications

Young Adult - The Protected by Claire Zorn, University of Queensland Press

Children's - The Duck and the Darklings by Glenda Millard, illustrated by Stephen Michael King, published by Allen and Unwin

People's Choice Award sponsored by The West Australian - Fever of Animals by Miles Allinson, Scribe Publications

The Premier's Prize - This House of Grief by Helen Garner, Text Publishing

The State Library was proud to host the Awards and recognises their role in encouraging the best of Australian literary talent.

Margaret Allen, CEO and State Librarian

About ALIA West

Recommended Posts × +